Html.TreeViewFor root node disable

Aug 24, 2012 at 11:02 AM

Hi CodePlex,

I want disable only root node .. pls let me know hot to do disable it..

Thanks in advance.

Coordinator
Aug 24, 2012 at 12:28 PM

What do you mean with disable? pls explain better what you want to do.

Aug 24, 2012 at 12:31 PM
Edited Aug 24, 2012 at 12:44 PM

Hi Frank,

I want  to disable first node of tree.

Please help me out. If Possible please give share code snnipet as I am totally new to it.

Coordinator
Aug 24, 2012 at 3:22 PM

Pls explain me better what do you mean with disabling. User cant edit it? It gas a grayish appearence or what

Aug 27, 2012 at 5:41 AM

Hi Frank,

I don't want that root node in edit mode on mouse click or enter click. It should always in display mode. As we are specifying edit mode template and display mode template, so my question is how to apply only display mode to root node means  only start mode of tree only .

My Tree display like this.

+Root

------ Doc1

-------Doc2

+Foder

-------DOc3

-------DOc4

************************ Here I want to display "Root" node only in display mode.

Thanks,

Ganesh

Coordinator
Aug 27, 2012 at 12:37 PM

Hi Ganesh,

You pass to the TreeView two vectors of node templates one for the display state(displayTemplates parameter) and another for the edit state(editTemplates parameter), then for each node select which template to use as a function of the node and of its depth in three with the two parameters itemTemplateSelectorDisplay and itemTemplateSelectorEdit. (see the documentation).

To have a different behaviour of just the root node in edit mode just add one more edit template that is specific for the root node to editTemplates . You can make this edit template the same as a normal display template(also if it is an edit template...it doesnt matter). In the itemTemplateSelectorEdit function check the depth of the node to identify the root node, and if the depth is 0 return the array index of the newly added template.