treeview

Nov 22, 2012 at 3:20 PM

Hi,

I'm very new to mvc controls toolkit and Lamba expressions but I woul like to use the Treeview. I was looking into the documentation of the treeview but it couldn't help me very much.

therefore I need your help!

The treeview should be a part of a page with some other information. Therefore i used this _Personnel model. Everything works fine except for the Locations treeview so you don't need to consider personnel/personnelproperty. (I used entity framework to build the models)

namespace Entity.Models
{
    public class _Personnel
    {
        public List<Entity.Personnel> personnel { get; set; }
        public List<Entity.PersonnelProperty> personnelproperty { get; set; }
        public List<Entity.Location> Locations { get; set; }
    }
}

The table Location has the following columns:

LocationID int
Description string
ParentLocationID int

When i execute the following code in Personnel.cshtml it gives me a list of all the locations so the list is properly filled.

@foreach(var item in Model.Locations) {
  • @item.Description }

Now i want to use the the Treeview in my Personnel.cshtml page. I tried to copy it from the documentation and this is what i got:

@Html.TreeViewFor(m => Model.Locations, l => "ParentLocationID".Equals("1")? "children":null , ExternalContainerType.span,
                                        "null",new object[]{ _S.L<Entity.Location>(h => "" + h.DisplayFor(m => m.Description).ToString()+""),
                                               _S.L<Entity.Models.Location>(h => "" +h.DisplayFor(m => m.Description).ToString()+"") },
                                               (x, y) => x is Entity.Location ? 0 : 1, "filetree treeview-red",
                                                    null,
                                                    null,
                                                    TreeViewMode.InitializeDisplay,