Applying SortOrder to Tracked DataGrid Items

Dec 13, 2012 at 1:48 AM
Edited Dec 13, 2012 at 12:34 PM

Hi, I am new to the MVC Controls Toolkit. I am using v2.3 within an ASP.NET 4.5 project.

When my test app hits the following line of controller class code on data grid column sorting postback:

model.Processors.ApplyOrder(model.SortOrder);

I get this exception:

Object of type 'System.Func`2[Processor,System.String]' cannot be converted to type 'System.Func`2[MVCControlsToolkit.Controller.Tracker`1[Processor],System.String]'

I have sorting defined in my view as follows:

<%: Html.EnableSortingFor(m => m.Processors, m => m.SortOrder, "gridView-header", "gridView-headerAscending", "gridView-headerDescending", true, page: m => m.CurrentPage, oneColumnSorting: true) %>

Why does m.SortOrder contain a function pointer to a Processor instead of a pointer to a Tracker<Processor>? I am trying to apply a sort that came from the following data grid definition:

<%: Html.DataGridFor(m => m.Processors, ItemContainerType.tr, null, "DisplayItemTemplate", "GridTemplate", itemCss: "gridView-row", altItemCss: "gridView-alternateRow") %>

My Processor and ProcessorsModel classes are defined as follows:

public class Processor
    {
        public string Id { get; set; }
        [CanSort()]
        public string Name { get; set; }
        public string Description { get; set; }
        [CanSort()]
        public string Vendor { get; set; }
        [CanSort()]
        public string Version { get; set; }
        [CanSort()]
        public string Sku { get; set; }
        [CanSort()]
        public string Created { get; set; }
        [CanSort()]
        public string Modified { get; set; }
    }

public class ProcessorsModel
    {
        public List<Tracker<Processor>> Processors { get; set; }
        public List<KeyValuePair<LambdaExpression, OrderType>> SortOrder { get; set; }
        public int PreviousPage { get; set; }
        public int CurrentPage { get; set; }