DateRange MVC3 Unobtrusive Client-side Validation do not work

Oct 18, 2011 at 11:39 PM
Hi, this is my first time using MVC Controls Toolkit and I cant really understand how to use it. I need to have a custom validation of a Date field so I declare a partial class in my Model like this:

[MetadataType(typeof(FoodMetaData))]
    public partial class FOOD
    {
        [Bind(Exclude = "FoodID")]
        public class FoodMetaData
        {
            [ScaffoldColumn(false)]
            public int FoodID { get; set; }

public object StorageDate { get; set; }

[DateRange(DynamicMinimum="Today", ErrorMessage="Test")]
            [DateRange(DynamicMinimum="StorageDate", ErrorMessage="Test storage date")]
            public DateTime? ExpiryDate { get; set; }

}

[MileStone]
        public DateTime Today
        {
            get { return DateTime.Now; }
            set { }
        }
    }

I got ExpiryDate and Storagedate, where Expirydate should be later or equal to today's date. Also, the Expirydate should not be earlier than the StorageDate.

However, I got no idea how to implement the validation and my trial seems failed. I get compilation error at the form html when i try to use DateTimeFor:

<div class="editor-label">
        Expiry Date
    </div>
    <div class="editor-field">
        @Html.DateTimeFor(model => model.ExpiryDate, new { @class = "expirydate" })
        @Html.ValidationMessageFor(model => model.ExpiryDate)
    </div>

It says cannot implicitly convert datetime? to datetime. So how should I explicitly cast it?

Also, If i use html.editorfor for the datetime field, the validation just dint work. Validation at other field in the same form work..

Please help.. I googled a lot yet still cant find a working solution.. Really really appreciate that..

Coordinator
Oct 19, 2011 at 4:53 PM

I answered you in the Mvc forum :).